AIGA Awards

AIGA is dedicated to demonstrating the value of design. Founded in 1914, the national organization, its members, and its 70+ chapters in cities across the United States recognize those who have made a significant impact to the field of design and are giving back to the community through their work.


2021 AIGA Awards recipients announced!

Learn More
Man manually operating a printing press (Front) and a tree with the words Special Medal of Award (back)

Recognizing Excellence in Design and Designers For More Than A Century



Through national and regional peer nominations, AIGA honors design leaders, forward-thinking companies, and those who have inspired engaging commentary about design and culture. Each year, committees and panels assemble to review  nominations and identify individuals and companies doing excellent work now.

National Awards

    AIGA Medal

    The medal of AIGA—the most distinguished honor in the profession of communication design—has been awarded since 1920 to individuals in recognition of their exceptional achievements to the advancement of the field of design as respected craft, strategic advantage, and vital cultural force. Medals have been awarded to individuals who have set standards of excellence over a lifetime of work or have made individual contributions to innovation within the practice of design.

    Meet the 2021 AIGA Medalists

    AIGA Corporate Leadership Award

    Established in 1980,  the AIGA Corporate Leadership Award recognizes the role of perceptive and forward-thinking organizations that have been instrumental in the advancement of design by applying the highest standards as a matter of practice and policy.

    Meet the 2021 Recipient

    Steven Heller Prize for Cultural Commentary

    Established in 2017, the annual Steven Heller Prize for Cultural Commentary spotlights a individuals who best exemplifies the tradition of prolific writing and boundless curiosity established by Steven Heller—who has contributed and inspired engaging commentary about design and culture for the past three decades. This award celebrates critical thinking about design and the profession, and encourages development in the next generation of design voices through a variety of media (book authors, editors, critics, reporters, copywriters, bloggers, podcasters, radio/video content creators, or filmmakers).

    Meet the 2021 Recipients


    Nominations open
    Nominations are accepted on a rolling basis and are considered year after year for the next awards cycle.

    Nominations close
    The deadline for nominations to be considered by the AIGA Awards Nominating Committee during the 2022 cycle will be announced in the summer.


    Learn More

    More Scholarships & Competitions

    Large 1600px image

    AIGA Worldstudio Scholarships

    Scholarships are awarded annually to encourage social and environmental responsibility and cultural awareness in the next generation of artists and designers.

    Learn More
    AIGA 50 Books | 50 Covers of 2020 identity

    50 Books | 50 Covers

    A time-honored tradition, this competition aims to identify the 50 best-designed books and 50-best book covers of the year.

    Learn More

    Related readings and videos